About us

Church at the Crossing is a community devoted to Jesus as the way to live and go love. This is how it shows up for us.

We care about positive experiences.

We create welcoming places for individuals and groups to connect, including The Haverstick, a coffee & co-working space right here on our campus, and Passport to Employment, a thriving ministry program designed to support, encourage, and equip those who are on a journey to new or better employment.

We care about relationships.

We believe that people weren’t meant to live life alone. We are down to earth, caring for and about each other. We put relationships before everything and foster safe spaces for holistic growth - spiritually, personally, and professionally.

We care about our city.

We love our neighbors and serve a diversity of people, perspectives, and generations - admiring each other’s strengths and respecting differences. We meaningfully show up, serve, and give to our local community. These are a few of our ministry partners:

We care about growth.

We are people “in process,” growing in wisdom, and grounded in the Bible. We invite people to bring their questions and curiosity. We do this together in groups as new believers and people who have been following Jesus for a long time.

We care about generosity.

We have received abundantly from God so we give back generously. Twenty percent of our annual budget goes to missions and, in addition to our ministry partners in Indianapolis, we support missionaries and ministries around the globe. In 2022, we formed a non-profit corporation, One More, to better serve our local community. One More will be able to raise funds through grants to help fund local missions projects.

Our Staff Team

James RobertsJames Roberts

James Roberts

Senior Pastor

Tim LucasTim Lucas

Tim Lucas

Director of Discipleship and Small Groups

Andrew MillerAndrew Miller

Andrew Miller

Associate Teaching Pastor

Alex Miller

Alex Miller

The 46 Director

Ashley DealAshley Deal

Ashley Deal

Director of the Early Childhood Center

Beth Baxter

Beth Baxter

Youth Associate

Bob MeyerBob Meyer

Bob Meyer

Director of Buildings & Grounds

Bruce HazelBruce Hazel

Bruce Hazel

Pastor of Congregational Care

Carma BlackwellCarma Blackwell

Carma Blackwell

Kids! Preschool Director

Ceejay Price

Ceejay Price

Worship Arts Intern

Christa Farrell

Christa Farrell

Assistant Director of the Early Childhood Center

Christine AberChristine Aber

Christine Aber

Communications & Connections Director

Clint DunnClint Dunn

Clint Dunn

Worship Arts Pastor

Dave Hughes

Dave Hughes

Director of Servant Leadership

David HughesDavid Hughes

David Hughes

Youth Ministry Pastor

Debbie GalvinDebbie Galvin

Debbie Galvin

Kids! Elementary Director

Hali Mendenhall

Hali Mendenhall

Communications Staff

Isaac MoawedIsaac Moawed

Isaac Moawed

Pastor of Arabic Congregation

Jordan DavisJordan Davis

Jordan Davis

Kids! Pastor

José & Patricia Gomez

José & Patricia Gomez

Pastors of Latino Ministry: Iglesia El Camino

Joyce Youssef

Joyce Youssef

Youth Worship Intern

Kate SassanellaKate Sassanella

Kate Sassanella

Executive Assistant to Pastor Roberts

Kevin Wilson

Kevin Wilson

Central Services Director

Lauren MillerLauren Miller

Lauren Miller

Executive Director of One More

Mafdy Shehat

Mafdy Shehat

Ministry Staff

Malashia Nicholson

Malashia Nicholson

Early Childhood Center Admin

Michael ThigpenMichael Thigpen

Michael Thigpen

Adjunct Teaching Pastor

Nicole Clayton

Nicole Clayton

Youth Intern

Sarah WhitneySarah Whitney

Sarah Whitney

Thursday Night Worship Leader

Tara KuhnleTara Kuhnle

Tara Kuhnle

Kids! & Office Admin

Our Board of Elders

The Board of Elders envisions the future God has for Church at the Crossing and works in advance to remove any obstacles of this preferred future. The Elders also set budget and policies in line with this vision. The Elders pray for weekly prayer requests and work cooperatively with our pastors to accomplish the mission and vision of Church at the Crossing.

They serve in three-year terms and can serve two terms before rotating off of the Elder Board. These 10 Elders are joined by two non-voting elders (our Assistant Treasurer and Senior Pastor).

James Roberts

Senior Pastor

Pat Bailey


Barry Newborn

Brian Manning

David Colp

Don Courtney

Ellen Hughes

Jen Tafflinger

Karyl McGeath

Nader Rezkalla

Florence Brown


Kevin Wilson

Assistant Treasurer | Non-Voting Member